Drivers on Wisconsin highways must now carry proof of insurance in their vehicles or face a $200 fine.
Wisconsin’s mandatory auto insurance law takes effect today, June 1, which means law enforcement officers will begin asking not only for a driver’s license during traffic stops, but also for proof of insurance, which usually is a card provided by insurers when the premium is paid.
“We will be asking for insurance credentials on each and every stop, similar to like when we ask for a driver’s license,” said State Patrol Major Dan Lonsdorf, who is director of transportation safety for the state Department of Transportation. “That’s really to be consistent across the board. What we don’t want is law enforcement, at least not State Patrol officers, picking and choosing who they ask and who they don’t ask.”
Lonsdorf said officers won’t be trying to hassle drivers with the new law. No one can be stopped by police solely on suspicion of not having insurance.
In addition, he said, a big ticket isn’t inevitable if proof of insurance is absent at the time of a traffic stop. Under the law, drivers will be asked for proof of insurance, and those who can’t provide it may be fined $10.
To read the entire article from the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, click here.